As a self advocate, I care deeply about all individuals. Recently much has been in the press about strong behavioral therapies.  I write this entry to raise awareness in order that parents and providers may be informed. I am not a therapist in any way, shape, form.

 I am an advocate for those with autism and disabilities and am just trying to see that appropriate therapies are applied on an individual basis. I realize that each client of therapy has unique needs, but also they may not always be able to speak for themselves.

I’m sure many of you have been hearing and reading recently about #stoptheshock. That’s because a court had ruled in favor of using shock therapy treatments on disabled individuals. In the autism and neurodiversity communities, this is considered torture and inhumane treatment. As an advocate, I can’t help but feel the pain that some of these disabled individuals go through with these treatments.

What makes it even more sickening is that one of these institutions that allows this practice to be used is in my home state of Massachusetts. The institution is called the Judge Rotenberg Center in Canton, MA and from the outside, it seems like a friendly and caring place.

Judge Rotenberg Educational Center - Wikipedia

But the practices in their are inhumane and sickening and the Food and Drug Administration ban on shock therapy was overturned by an appeals court.

Now, for some individuals with behavioral problems, this may be needed if the individual is behaving badly in society or in school. It can also be used for reasons such as to prevent the individual from hurting himself or herself. One of the techniques used is a collar that buzzes when the individual acts out. It’s painful and something that can really hurt someone who wears the collar.

Appeals court axes FDA ban of electric shock on the disabled

But for individuals like myself, I fortunately was never subjected to this kind of action. I was very lucky to have lived the life I live where these kind of practices were never used on me. Many of my other colleagues in the autism/neurodiversity communities also were never subjected to this kind of abuse.

That’s where the situation develops into a 50/50 situation. The problem is that autistic individuals who may not seem like they need this treatment end up getting it anyway. If the individual is non-verbal and cannot live at home, then find an institution that is caring and understanding to autistic individuals, not meant to be cruel and evil. They need to be treated like human beings, not like animals.

If you want the individual to be somewhere like a day program for a few hours a day where they can be amongst society under supervision, then there are plenty of options to choose from in your hometown, city or state. For example, there is the Els Center for Autism in Jupiter, Florida which is founded and run by PGA golfer, Ernie Els, whose son, Ben, is autistic.

Els for Autism - Community And Support - Spectrum Life Magazine

Now, if you want a visual illustration of this issue, I would watch the Law and Order episode “Cruel and Unusual,” which is based on the Judge Rotenberg Center and their methods.

Of course, this doesn’t just happen in the United States. Countries all over the world have this kind of practice used and I have read countless stories of individuals being tortured by employees who should never have been employed in the first place.

Exploring the Controversy Around ABA Therapy - Autism Parenting Magazine

Now, I’m sure you are probably wondering what my views are on Applied Behavior Analysis or ABA, since there is a lot of discussion about it in the community.

Applied Behavior Analysis to me is like a delicate balance. You need to find the right people that will be the right fit for the patient/client. Some of my colleagues have had ABA and have had a positive experience because they have had the right people.

The problem is that there are some families who have their children undergo ABA anyway who clearly don’t need ABA in the first place. I never had ABA because I didn’t need it and my folks were wise enough to not let me have it.

However, there are some families who will believe in ABA to help force their loved one to be like a normal human being. That’s where the issue of psychological damage comes into play for some people on the autism spectrum.

My advice to you is this:

DO NOT USE ABA UNLESS YOU REALLY NEED TO USE IT!

If you want to instill positive reinforcement for your loved ones, try using helpful therapies like speech or occupational therapies. When I was growing up, I used these therapies and they helped mold me into the man that I am today. For some families though, this may not be enough.

The most important thing is that everyone whether they are on the autism spectrum or not needs to grow naturally and at their own pace. There should not be shock therapies or mental abuse used to force behaviors.

Behaviors come naturally and behaviors take time to develop. It’s like a flower, it grows according to it’s natural functions!

If extra help is needed, then find the right people to help your loved one. Find a professional like a psychologist or a psychiatrist who will work with your loved one on issues like growing up, being social and understanding social cues.

All in all, you cannot force your loved one to adapt behaviors right away!

If you have any questions about this topic or would like to discuss more, please shoot me an email at godistance3562@gmail.com!